What do vinyasa and yin mean? They are forms of yoga categorised by their characteristics. Read on to discover more – or in a nutshell – vinyasa is fast and yin is slow!

Traditionally, four paths of yoga are recognised (karma, bhakti, raja & jana). In 2018 there is a more modern way of identifying the different strands of yoga that have evolved over time. Here is a list of the 11 main types of yoga that are distinct from each other (NB I would add Pregnancy yoga to this list):

  • Hatha
  • Iyengar
  • Kundalini
  • Ashtanga
  • Vinyasa
  • Bikram
  • Yin
  • Restorative

At Henham Yoga studios, we offer vinyasa yoga as it is dynamic and flowing. We believe that is the yoga practice you will find the most beneficial to your wellbeing. Yin yoga is a complementary practice which is much slower and contemplative, restful for the body and soul and taught by candlelight.

Vinyasa Yoga: a fast flowing yoga practice, linking your breath to movement in a choreographed sequence. Class will always start with a short pranayama (breath) practice followed by a warm up and building up to the more challenging poses before slowing down and taking savasana (relaxation). The class is carefully structured to blend forward folds, twists, backbends, inversions and balancing poses. Options are given continually and props may be used, allowing all abilities to move together on the mat. The core foundation of the class is the sequence of poses that constitute a ‘vinyasa’ (think simple sun salutation).

Yin Yoga: is a slow-paced style of yoga where postures are held for a certain length of time (in this session 2 minutes). The aim is to increase circulation in the joints and improve flexibility by applying gentle stress to the connective tissues of the body—the tendons, fascia, and ligaments.